The 2024 DSA Awardees

Helga Sauerwein
May 30, 2024

The European Association for Animal Production (EAAP) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2024 Distinguished Service Awards, honouring three exemplary individuals for their outstanding contributions to the livestock sector and their dedicated service to EAAP. This year, we celebrate Helga Sauerwein from Germany, Martin Lidauer from Finland, and Ilan Halachmi from Israel. Helga Sauerwein, former President of the Physiology Study Commission, has been a pioneering force in animal physiology and welfare, significantly advancing our understanding of animal health and productivity. Martin Lidauer, formerly Council member with responsibilities with the Young EAAP Scientists, works in animal genetics and breeding where he provides invaluable insights and tools for sustainable animal production. Ilan Halachmi, former Council member and first President of the Precision Livestock Farming Study Commission, expert in precision livestock farming have where he sets new standards for efficiency and sustainability in the sector, driving forward technological advancements that benefit both animals and farmers. These distinguished individuals have not only excelled in their respective fields but have also shown firm commitment to the goals and mission of EAAP. We extend our sincere congratulations and gratitude to Helga Sauerwein, Martin Lidauer and Ilan Halachmi for their extraordinary service and contributions.